EMPLOYEE SPOTLIGHT

Judy Smith
Judy Smith
Vice President, Higher Education
(703) 397-3879
jsmith@govsourcing.com

Judy Smith brings more than 20 years of procurement expertise to Government Sourcing Solutions, much of that time spent in Higher Education procurement. Read more...

She spent the better part of ten years at the University of Michigan, first as the Assistant Director and then as the Director of Procurement, Stores and Auxiliary Services overseeing the University's $1.4 billion in spend. At Michigan, she became nationally known for her ability to implement eProcurement and analytical software tools. She led both initiatives, while driving contract compliance through strategic sourcing, a difficult feat in a university setting. In recognition of her standing in the higher education community, Judy was tapped to serve on the Board Directors of E&I, a prominent higher education cooperative.

Judy's procurement experience goes beyond higher education. After starting her procurement career in the U.S. Navy, she spent several years in consulting at Capp Gemini Ernst & Young, in pharmaceutical sales at Parke Davis at a large eProcurement provider and most recently worked building a strategic sourcing program from the ground up for the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. HHMI provides funding for groundbreaking scientific and medical research at more than 70 college campuses across the country.

Judy twice received the prestigious NAEP Professional Perspective Award, and was recognized with six colleagues, for an article titled, "Calculating Procurement's Value". She also published an article on demand planning entitled, "Let Suppliers Help Plan Purchase Needs," in Hospital Material Management Monthly. Judy and her husband Fred live in Fairfax, Virginia with their two children Jacob and Margaux. She holds a Master's from the University of Detroit Mercy in Health Care Administration and a Bachelor's in Employee Relations, with an additional major in Psychology from Michigan State University.

Read less.

Who We Are
Jane Benton

Jane Benton, CPPO

Vice President, South
(501) 350-1422
jbenton@govsourcing.com
Courtney Carlson

Courtney Carlson

Co-Founder
(202) 445-4647
ccarlson@govsourcing.com
Karen Johnson

Karen Johnson

Controller
(703) 399-9426
kjohnson@govsourcing.com
Nicole Kenney

Nicole Kenney

Vice President, Northeast
(317) 688-7154 o
(317) 509-7483 c
nkenney@govsourcing.com
Jason MacDonald

Jason MacDonald

Regional Director, California
(714) 425-3200
jmacdonald@govsourcing.com
David Yarkin

Mike Smith

Vice President, Midwest
(217) 381-5600
msmith@govsourcing.com
Judy Smith

Judy Smith

Vice President, Higher Education
(703) 397-3879
jsmith@govsourcing.com
Nicole Smith

Nicole Smith

Senior Director of Research
(859) 227-7199
nsmith@govsourcing.com
David Yarkin

David Yarkin

President
(202) 244-1820 o
(717) 395-7726 c
dyarkin@govsourcing.com
Gary F. Ankabrandt

Gary F. Ankabrandt

Procurement Counsel
legal@govsourcing.com